DEPT OF DRIVERS SERVICES
Most vehicle registration questions are answered on this web site.
If you need additional information please call our tag office at (770) 461-3611 and someone will be happy to help you.
Or you may use the link https://eservices.drives.ga.gov to:
- Renew vehicle registration
- Pay insurance fines
- Change address
- Cancel Registration
- Apply for a tag
- Replace registration
Out-of-state titles must be surrendered and transferred to Georgia titles (year models 1985 and older are not required to be titled in the state of Georgia). If you do not have the title and we find there is a lien on the vehicle, you must provide the current registration and name and address of the lien holder. Additionally, leased vehicles require a power of attorney from the leasing company and a copy of the lease agreement.
Georgia liability insurance is required from your insurance company. This information must be transmitted to the state's database by your insurance company in order to register your vehicle. The vehicle must be covered by liability insurance at all times or per Georgia law, a lapse in coverage penalty will apply. You can check the status of your insurance at https://eservices.drives.ga.gov under insurance status.
If you choose to cancel insurance on a vehicle, you must also cancel your tag registration. If your vehicle in not operational on your birthday you are still required to pay the taxes due to avoid late registration penalties.
Uniform tax valuations used in calculating Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) and motor vehicle ad valorem taxes are certified to county tax commissioners by the Georgia Department of Revenue. TAVT is calculated at fair market value multiplied by the TAVT rate, which is currently 6.6%.If you wish to dispute the assessed value of your vehicle you may appeal the value at the time of your transaction.
For estimated TAVT valuations please use the following link: https://eservices.drives.ga.gov
Ad Valorem Tax
Ad valorem tax is a value tax that is assessed annually and must be paid at the time of registration. Payment of ad valorem taxes is a prerequisite to receiving a tag or renewal decal. Ad valorem taxes are due each year on all vehicles including vehicles that are not operational, even if a tag or registration is not being applied for. Taxes must be paid by the last day of your registration period to avoid a 10% penalty (minimum $5). Tax amounts vary according to the vehicle make and model and the tax district in which the owner resides. Ad valorem tax receipts are distributed to the state, county, schools, and cities. These levying authorities use this revenue to fund their general operations.
Tags and Fees
An annual state tag fee of $20 is required for issuance of regular passenger or light duty truck license plates or renewal decals. Prestige, college, commemorative, or some special tags require a one-time $25 manufacturing fee plus an additional $35 annual special tag fee. Specialty plates are available with an annual tag fee of $35; wildlife plates will be available for an annual tag fee of $25. When ordering a prestige, or college commemorative tag, be sure to include a copy of the State approval letter and the appropriate fees. Other special tags do not require a letter.
Click here for form MV9B to request a prestige tag.
Tag Registration Bills
The registration bills are mailed out 45 days prior to the vehicle owner’s birthday (expiration date).
In order to provide the best service to our taxpayers you have the option to renew by mail, on line or at a renewal kiosk. Registration payments should be mailed early so as to allow time for return of your tag or renewal decal before your current tag expires on your birthday. When mailing your registration payment, please allow 10 days for processing and return of your tag or renewal decal. Registration payments must be postmarked no later than your birthday to avoid penalties. Late penalties are 10% of the ad valorem tax (minimum $5), plus 25% of the tag fee. Please carefully read the instructions that are included with your registration renewal form.
Not receiving a registration bill does not relieve the registrant/taxpayer from the obligation to register and pay taxes during their birthday registration period.
The Fayette County Tax Commissioner is required by law to ensure emissions compliance at the time of the tag sale. The State Department of Natural Resources and its Georgia Clean Air Force have responsibility over the design, implementation, and public awareness aspects of the emissions program.
Georgia vehicle emission inspection and testing presently covers a 13-county region. Any vehicle more than 3 years old and up to 25 years old requires yearly emission testing prior to renewal. When registering your vehicle you must submit a current emissions inspection certificate (if applicable) along with your registration bill, as a prerequisite to receiving a tag or renewal decal.
Vehicles exempt from emission requirements are current year model and last two preceding year model vehicles, vehicles with diesel engines, vehicles with a gross vehicle weight (GVW) of 8500 pounds or more, and motorcycles. Out-of-state students, military personnel stationed out of state and senior citizens may be eligible for extensions or waivers in certain circumstances. Call the Georgia Clean Air Force at 1-800-449-2471 for more information or check with www.cleanairforce.com.
SENIOR CITIZEN EMISSIONS WAIVER: A vehicle that is driven less than 5,000 miles per year, is 10 years old or older, AND is owned by a person 65 years of age or older, may qualify for an exemption. The waiver for this exemption will be processed for approval at the Fayette County Tag Office. Please have your current millage when renewing.
Georgia law requires that all vehicle owners carry at all times minimum liability insurance. A record of your insurance coverage must be electronically transmitted to the Georgia GRATIS data base prior to registration and obtaining a license plate for a vehicle. You may provide a valid binder or declaration page indicating coverage in lieu of electronic transmission. A binder should be dated within the current 30 day period, and a declaration page should be dated within the current 20 day period.
Use the following link to check your insurance status: https://eservices.drives.ga.gov
Military Personal (Non-Resident Service Member)
Military personnel who are claiming residency in other states, and who are in Georgia solely by virtue of military orders, are not subject to Georgia TAVT (Title Ad Valorem Tax).
- Current orders reflect a Georgia military base
- Current leave & earnings statement (LES) reflecting state/county of record other than Georgia
- PT472NS form
- Dependent ID card for qualifying dependents
- The soldier must comply with all inspection requirements in their particular jurisdiction (i.e., emissions);
To access the Non-Residents Service Members Affidavit for Title Ad Valorem Tax on Motor Vehicles Form please click here
Registration Renewal Period
For Persons: Registrations expire on the vehicle owner/lessee’s birthday and must be renewed during the 30 day period preceding and ending on the owner/lessee’s birthday.
For Business: Registrations in the name of a business, corporation, or organization expire at the end of the business owner’s designated registration month. Business registrations are staggered by month according to the first letter of the company name as shown on the registration application. Business owned vehicle registrations must be renewed during and no later than the end of the designated renewal month.
Registration renewal applications postmarked after the end of any registration period will accrue a 10% ad valorem tax penalty (with minimum $5), a 25% tag penalty.Registering by mail offers time and money savings benefits and is strongly recommended. Registrants needing assistance may register in person in our tag office located at 140 W. Stonewall Avenue, Suite 109, Fayetteville, GA 30214.
Methods of Payment
Payment may be in the form of cash, a Company or Personal Check, Money Order, Certified Funds or by Credit Card (Visa, Master Card, American Express, or Discover). A service charge of 2.5% will be added to any credit/debit transaction, and debited against your credit/debit card account to cover the cost of the third party processing company for completing the transaction.
Checks should be made payable to: Fayette County Tax Commissioner and should have name of registrant, local address (P O Boxes are not acceptable), and bank account number preprinted on the check. Please enter your home and business phone numbers, a driver’s license number, and tag number on the face of your check. We cannot accept starter, counter, third party, payroll, or checks with an out of state, out of county, or P.O. Box address.
Tag renewals can be processed online through the Department of Revenue using a credit card or debit card @ https://eservices.drives.ga.gov
New Georgia Residents
New residents from out of state must register in person at our office within 30 days of establishing residency. The original certificate of title from out of state will be required. The owner listed on the face of the original title must be present. If the title lists multiple owners, all owners must be present, or those owners who cannot be present must provide an original notarized Power-of-Attorney. The Power-of-Attorney must include the year, make, model and vehicle identification number of the vehicle being registered. The current registration from the former state will also be requested along with the current mileage of the vehicle. A valid Georgia insurance carrier must have provided the State database with minimum liability insurance coverage prior to registration. A valid binder or declaration page from the insurance policy can be used at initial registration, and either must indicate minimum liability coverage, the vehicle VIN and dates of coverage. A Georgia Emissions Certificate will also be required. If the title is being held by a lien holder, out of state registration, showing the owner or owners of the vehicle, a complete description of the vehicle and the name and mailing address of the lien-holder must be presented. If the vehicle is leased, the lessee must have the lease agreement showing a complete description of the vehicle and the complete name and address of the lessor. Also, an original notarized Power-0f-Attorney from the lessor is required to be completed. New residents entering the state of Georgia will be required to pay TAVT (Title Ad Valorem Tax) at the time of initial registration. Documentation will be required to show proof of when residency was established in Georgia. The title tax is 3% of the fair market value at the time of registration.
Acceptable documents are:
- Georgia driver’s license
- If you have a leased vehicle, you must have a Power-of-Attorney from the leasing company.
- Title - if you own your vehicle.
- Registration - if you have a lien, we will need complete lien holder’s name and mailing address. If the state you move from is a non-title holding state, you must present the title.
- 30 day insurance binder or declarations page
- Odometer reading
- Date of purchase of vehicle (day, month, and year).
- Current Emissions test
- Cost: $18 per title, $20 per plate, plus TAVT tax based or 3% of the fair market value of the vehicle. If you pay by check, your check must have your Fayette County address printed on it.
- All vehicles 1986 and newer, travel trailers, pop-up campers, and trainers exceeding 2,000 pounds require a title for registration.
New Residents to Fayette County
New residents moving into Fayette County from within the state of Georgia can come to the tag office or update their address through https://eservices.drives.ga.gov
You should bring documentation indicating your current Fayette County address, such as utility bill or lease agreement.
The Georgia Department of Revenue, Motor Vehicle Division has issued an updated Motor Vehicle Manual. This manual is detailed and addresses the State's requirements for titling and registering vehicles in the State of Georgia.
To view this manual online use the following link: https://dor.georgia.gov/mvd-manual
To apply for a title for an imported vehicle, the following documents and fees must be submitted to the Fayette County Motor Vehicle Office. If the required documents cannot be obtained for a 1986 or newer year model vehicle, a title can only be obtained on the basis of a surety bond. Refer to the “Surety Bonds” section for additional information. However, if a vehicle was last registered in a foreign country, the title application supported by a surety bond must also be supported by the federal forms described under the heading “Federal Compliance”.
Our office will assist you in completing an MV-1 Tag Title Application. The owner(s) or an authorized representative of the owner(s) must sign the title application. The authorized document (Power of Attorney
) must be submitted if the application is signed by a representative. The full, legal name(s) of the owner(s), Georgia identification card number(s) or driver’s license number(s) and the name(s) of the issuing state/country are required for the first certificate of title.
Transfer Document – The original, valid and properly assigned MSO must be submitted to show a complete chain of vehicle ownership. The MSO for passenger vehicles and motorcycles must be on a standard secure document. The Motor Vehicle Department accepts documents that have been stamped with a signature stamp by an agent/representative authorized by the dealership. All liens noted on any assignment must either be released or shown on the application.
If the vehicle was most recently registered in a foreign country, the valid, foreign registration certificate issued by the country where the vehicle was last registered in the current owner(s)’ name(s)must
be submitted. For the vehicle to be titled as new, the foreign registration certificate must be issued in the current owner(s)’ name(s) as shown on the title application.
Since a Georgia title is required for 1986 and newer year model vehicles, the state of Georgia willnot
issue a title based on a registration certificate from a foreign country for 1985 and older year model vehicles. Georgia will issue a title based on the submission of a foreign registration certificate for 1963 and newer manufactured or mobile homes.
Any lien/security interest noted on any assignment or the foreign registration certificate must either be released or shown on the application.
Form T-22B (Serial Plate Verification Form) – If a foreign registration certificate is submitted, Form T-22Bmust
be completed by a Georgia law enforcement officer after a visual inspection of the vehicle’s serial plate. You may find this form at https://dor.georgia.gov/search?search=T-22B&sm_site_name=dor.
Federal Compliance – All imported vehicles must go through U.S. Customs before entry into the United States. Proof that an imported vehicle conforms to U.S. EPA and DOT Standards and the Customs and Board Protection Form CBP-7501must
be submitted. When a motor vehicle,not
a trailer or a vehicle imported from Puerto Rico, is imported into the United States, three (3) federal forms are required. The required forms are:
- U.S. DOT Form HS-7
- U.S. EPA Form 3520-1
- U.S. Customs & Border Protection Form CBP-7501
The form CBP-7501 must be stamped and signed by a U.S. Custom’s representative. No one, not a resident, non-resident or the military are exempt from providing these forms. In lieu of the Form CBP-7501, you may submit a military Form DD 1252 or Form DD 1854. If you do not have these forms or you need additional information, please contact a U.S. Customs office, located throughout Georgia. The applicant must submit the original(s) and copies of these forms; the original(s) will be returned upon request.
Note:U.S. Customs documents are not required to be submitted when applying for a Georgia title and license plate for a vehicle sold through Overseas Military Sales Corporation (OMSC) when the following documents are submitted:
A bill of sale from OMSC Ltd./Overseas Military Sales Corporation listing a U.S. franchised dealer’s name and address as the delivery point and stating “Vehicle Certified U.S. FMVSS”. This indicates that the vehicle was delivered directly from the manufacturer to the U.S. dealer (never leaving the U.S.) and that the vehicle conforms to U.S. Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards.
The above applies only to vehicles sold through the Overseas Military Sales Corporation (OMSC). The Certificate of Origin and the bill of sale must be presented and must contain all the information listed. Persons attempting to register or title vehicles with any other Certificate of Origin, Title, etc. bearing a foreign name and address must provide U.S. Customs clearance forms.
Fees – Pay all fees and taxes due with a check or money order payable to the Fayette County Tax Commissioner. The Fayette County Motor Vehicle Office also accepts cash and credit cards (VISA, MasterCard American Express & Discover). There is a 2.5% (for VISA MasterCard or Discover) or 3% convenience fee (American Express) charged when paying with a credit card. The title fee is $18 if the title application was submitted within thirty (30) days of the date on the DOT certification. If a title is not applied for within thirty (30) days of the DOT certification, a title penalty fee of $10 must be included in your payment.
Newly Acquired Vehicles
Georgia residents with newly acquired vehicles must register within 7 days of vehicle purchase. New vehicle owners must apply for a title prior to or at the time of registration. Registration must be made in person at our tag office. If an owner is unable to appear in person, an original notarized Power-of-Attorney for that person must be presented at the time of registration. The Power-of-Attorney must include the year, make, model and vehicle identification number of the vehicle.
Please read over your title completely before signing. Titles differ from state to state, with some requiring signatures on the front, while others require that you complete the back. Make sure all areas on the original title are completed, recording the buyer name, the seller name, both signatures, the date of sale and current odometer reading. Do not use whiteout, or cross through an error on the back of the title. A notarized affidavit of correction will need to be completed which must accompany the title, and MV1 form if correction to a title must be made. Please note both seller and buyer may need to complete an affidavit of correction, depending on the error. The affidavit of correction form below must be completed if you determine there has been an error in the transfer of your title and must be presented at the time of registration. If white-out has been used on your title, please note that the title will be voided. If you are the original owner, you may request a new title from the state. If you are the purchaser, you must go back to the original owner to have the title replaced.
Download the affidavit of correction form
If the vehicle is purchased from an automobile dealer, dealers must apply for title work electronically through the Georgia Department of Revenue.
License plates are the personal property of the vehicle owner. During a change of ownership, license plates should be removed from the vehicle and retained by the seller. This will allow the seller to transfer the tag to a newly acquired vehicle.
- If you trade-in, sell, or dispose of your vehicle, retain your license plate and transfer it to your new vehicle. Eligibility to transfer a tag follows these guidelines:
- The new registration must read exactly as the previous registration. Ownership must be the same. For example: If the previous registration reads John Smith and Suzie Smith, the new registration must read John Smith and Suzie Smith.
- The tag must be applied to a vehicle of the same kind. Passenger vehicle to passenger vehicle, trailer to trailer, motorcycle to motorcycle, etc.
Name Change (Marriage or Divorce)
If you wish to have your name changed on your registration due to marriage or divorce, you must first apply for a new title. A name change requires that you appear in person with your original certificate of title and supporting certified legal documents (i.e., certified copy of the marriage certificate or divorce decree). In case of divorce, the divorce decree must give the Year and Make of the vehicle. If a vehicle is financed, only the security lien holder can change the name.
When there is a probated will, the applicant must provide the title in the deceased party’s name, if available, along with a Letter of Testamentary. If the will was not probated, provide the title, if available, a death certificate, will, if available, and an affidavit of inheritance form. https://dor.georgia.gov/form-t-20-affidavit-inheritance
Also required are current validated registration, an original Georgia emission certificate, and proof of Georgia Liability insurance on the vehicle.
Handicapped Person Parking Permit
Handicapped person parking permits are issued in this office.
For a temporary or permanent handicapped permit, you must have a signed and notarized letter from your physician, indicating your current medical limitations.
Please use the link below to obtain the form for completion by your primary physician:
In Fayette County the tests for driver's licenses are given Tuesday through Friday at the Department of Drivers Services — 749 West Lanier Ave, Suite 102, Fayetteville, GA 30214 — from 8:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., or on Saturdays from 8 – 12 noon. Applicants need to be at this location for testing by 4:00 p.m. due to the large volume of applicants. The telephone number is 678-413-8400 or 1-800-754-3687. For more information, check https://dds.georgia.gov.
Accepted methods of payments are Credit/Debit Cards including Visa, MasterCard, Discover and American Express, cash, checks or money orders. For more information, please click on the link below.
The Georgia State Patrol will answer questions at 678-413-8400. It is important that you listen to the tape in its entirety.
If you are titling your vehicle in Virginia for the first time and you hold a valid assignable title or registration issued in your name by another state or a branch of the United States Armed Forces, you will not have to pay the Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax.What happens if you don't pay your car taxes in NC? ›
What will happen if I don't pay the registration and vehicle tax by the due date? Interest will be charged on late vehicle property tax payments and registration renewals. Your vehicle could also be subject to fees from NCDMV and a citation if it is driven after the tags expire.Who is exempt from Texas motor vehicle tax? ›
A motor vehicle purchased in Texas for use exclusively outside Texas is exempt from motor vehicle sales tax. To claim the exemption, a purchaser must not use the motor vehicle in Texas, except for transportation directly out of state, and must not register the motor vehicle in Texas.Why can't I renew my vehicle registration online Virginia? ›
Overview. You may not be able to renew your registration (decals) if you have delinquent local government personal property taxes, parking citations, toll violations, or other fees.Why is Virginia car tax so high? ›
Supply chain issues in the auto industry have caused car values to increase, leading to higher amounts on personal property tax bills. For a car that's now a year older, taxpayers in the Commonwealth could be paying a higher fee because of that increased value.At what age do you stop paying property taxes in Virginia? ›
Background. The Virginia General Assembly enacted legislation allowing Loudoun County to provide an exemption from real property taxes on the principal dwelling and up to three acres for residents who are at least 65 years of age or permanently and totally disabled.Is there a grace period for expired tags in N.C. 2022? ›
NC Expired Tag Grace Period
According to the NCDOT, you can drive for up to 15 days after your registration renewal date in North Carolina without getting a ticket. This window is a “grace period” to give you more time for your registration renewal.
From January 1, 2022, through June 30, 2022, the applicable rate is 10 percent (10%) regardless of how late the tax is paid. Beginning July 1, 2022, the applicable rate is 2 percent (2%) for each month, or part of a month, that the payment is late (up to a maximum penalty rate of 10 percent (10%).How long do you have to pay N.C. state taxes? ›
Due Dates (G.S. 105-228.5(e) )
Annual returns along with payment of tax are due on or before March 15 of each year. Installment returns (if required) along with payment of tax are due on or before April 15, June 15, and October 15 of each year.
- Vehicles used by a disabled person. ...
- Disabled passenger vehicles. ...
- Mobility scooters, powered wheel chairs and invalid carriages. ...
- Historic vehicles. ...
- Electric vehicles. ...
- Mowing machines. ...
- Steam vehicles. ...
- Vehicles used just for agriculture, horticulture and forestry.
An application for exempt plates shall be made to the county tax assessor-collector, shall be made on a form prescribed by the department, and shall contain the following information: (i) vehicle description; (ii) name of the exempt agency; (iii) an affidavit executed by an authorized person stating that the vehicle is ...How much is tax title and license on a new car in Texas? ›
Fees one can expect to pay when buying a car in Texas are as follows: Sales Tax: 6.25% of the total vehicle purchase price. Title Transfer Fee: $28 to $33 (varies by county) Tag / License Fee: $51.75 base fee, $10 local fee.How long can you ride around with expired tags in Virginia? ›
Although it isn't legal to drive with expired registration tags, there was a grace period of sorts instituted in 2021. Police officers are not allowed to pull you over for the sole purpose of an expired registration until four months after they expire.How long can your tags be expired in VA? ›
Can You Get Pulled Over for an Expired Inspection Sticker in Virginia? Virginia Code §46.2-1157 states that “[n]o law-enforcement officer shall stop a motor vehicle due to an expired vehicle inspection sticker until the first day of the fourth month after the original expiration date.”Can police pull you over for expired tags in Virginia? ›
No law-enforcement officer shall stop a motor vehicle due to an expired registration sticker prior to the first day of the fourth month after the original expiration date.Do I have to pay taxes twice if I buy a car out of state? ›
How to Save on Taxes When Buying a Car? You only pay sales tax based on where you register your new vehicle. You do NOT pay sales tax twice; you only owe the tax at the rate where you live.Can you deduct personal property taxes on cars in Virginia? ›
General Information. Personal property tax relief is provided for any passenger car, motorcycle, or pickup or panel truck having a registered gross weight with DMV of 10,000 pounds or less on January 1. Qualifying vehicles must be owned or leased by an individual and be used 50% or less for business purposes.How much is car property tax in VA? ›
The current tax rate for most all vehicles is $4.20 per $100 of assessed value.Is there a property tax discount for seniors in Virginia? ›
Local Property Tax Relief for Real Estate and Motor Vehicles
Most Virginia cities, counties, and towns offer some form of personal property tax relief to homeowners age 65 and older, and to homeowners with disabilities. This relief may be in the form of a tax exemption, tax deferral, or both.
Virginia is tax-friendly toward retirees. Social Security income is not taxed. Withdrawals from retirement accounts are partially taxed. Wages are taxed at normal rates, and your marginal state tax rate is 5.90%.
Under the Virginia Constitution, the General Assembly may give localities the power to grant full or partial exemptions from real estate taxes to persons 65 years of age or older or for persons permanently and totally disabled. The exemption applies to owner-occupied property used as the sole dwelling of such persons.Is there an annual car tax in Virginia? ›
The states with no car tax include Florida, Georgia, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Ohio, Illinois, Texas, Oklahoma, Washington and Oregon. Even with Virginia's “car tax,” the state has a relatively low overall tax burden, according to most rankings.Is Virginia tax friendly for seniors? ›
Is Virginia tax-friendly for retirees? Virginia has a number of exemptions and deductions that make the state tax-friendly for retirees. It exempts all Social Security income from the state income tax. It also provides seniors with a deduction of up to $12,000 per year against all other forms of retirement income.How much is car property tax in VA? ›
The current tax rate for most all vehicles is $4.20 per $100 of assessed value.Do you pay sales tax on a used car in Virginia? ›
Do I Have to Pay Sales Tax on a Used Car? In Virginia, you will have to pay the 4.15% sales tax even if you purchase a used vehicle.